The Canadian Journal of Statistics Award 2023

The Canadian Journal of Statistics Award is awarded annually by the SSC to the author(s) of an article published in the previous year in the journal, in recognition of the outstanding quality of the paper’s methodological innovation and presentation. The 2023 winners are Evan Sidrow (University of British Columbia), Nancy Heckman (Professor Emeritus, University of British Columbia), Sarah M. E. Fortune (University of British Columbia), Andrew Trites (University of British Columbia), Ian Murphy (University of Florida) and Marie Auger-Méthé (University of British Columbia) for their paper entitled “Modelling multi-scale, state-switching functional data with hidden Markov models”, which appeared in The Canadian Journal of Statistics, Volume 50, Issue 1, 2022, pages 327-356 (the Functional and object data analysis / L’analyse de données fonctionnelles et d’objets special issue)

The authors also provided a lay abstract for their article, which may be read here.

The list of previous CJS Award winning articles from 2010 onwards is here.