ITOR: Call for Papers for Special Issue on “OR in Healthcare”

The International Transactions in Operational Research (ITOR) will publish a special issue on OR in Healthcare at the occasion of the 22nd Triennial Conference of the International Federation of Operational Research Societies (IFORS 2020) held in Seoul, South Korea, from June 21 to 26 2020. Although we strongly encourage the submission of papers presented at the special sessions devoted to this subject at the IFORS 2020 conference, this Call for Papers is open to the entire community of academics and practitioners.

We encourage contributions that illustrate the interplay between theory and practice, with new and innovative methods or uses of Operations Research methods in all areas of health and healthcare. Potential topics include, but are not limited to:

Public health policies
Performance evaluation
Incentive contracts and payment systems
Screening and prevention
Health care logistics and supply chains
Health care resource and capacity planning
Location problems in health care
Workforce scheduling
Patient and appointment scheduling
Operating room planning and scheduling
Emergency medical systems
Home care and long-term care
Blood services
Disease modeling and policy
Cancer treatment planning
Infectious diseases

The deadline for submission is 31 December 2020.

All papers will be peer-reviewed  according to the editorial policy of the International Transactions in Operational Research (ITOR), published by the International  Federation of Operational Research Societies (IFORS). They should be original, unpublished, and not currently under consideration for publication elsewhere. Contributions should be prepared according to the instructions to authors that can be found on the journal homepage. Authors should upload their contributions using the submission site, indicating in their cover letter that the paper is intended for this special issue. Other inquiries should be sent directly to the Guest Editors in charge of this issue: Evrim Gunes (, Inês Marques (, and Ana Viana (