Armitage Lecture 2016


  • Broadcast Date: 28 February 2017 - 14:00 (UTC)
  • Presenter(s): Professor Richard J. Cook, University of Waterloo
  • Copyright: Statistics Views and MRC Biostatistics Unit

Register Here

Courtesy of the MRC Biostatistics Unit. Please note that the webinar has now taken place. Register for FREE to view.

Registrants now have a chance to view the webinar of the lecture which took place on 17th November 2016.

Statistics Views was proud to again host a webinar of the Armitage Lecture which this year took place on 17th November 2016.

The Armitage Lecture is named to honour the immense contributions of Professor Peter Armitage CBE who was at the MRC Biostatistics Unit from 1947 to 1961, and whose work is recognised throughout the world as achieving a successful balance between methodological rigour and applied commonsense, to which all statisticians aspire. A series of lectures bearing his name could have been established almost anywhere. However, it is particularly apt that it has been established by BSU. It was in Cambridge in the 1940s that Peter started his academic career when he read for the Mathematics Tripos. He took his PhD at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM), and in 1947 he started work at the MRC Statistical Research Unit, the original name for BSU.

thumbnail image: Armitage Lecture 2016

The overall theme was 'Multiple/composite outcomes and missing data in longitudinal settings' and the Armitage speaker this year was Professor Richard J. Cook from the University of Waterloo, Canada. Professor Cook's lecture title is: "Addressing complex sampling and observation schemes in cohort studies".

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.