Statistics in Medicine - Armitage Lecture 2011


  • Author: Jerald F. Lawless and Richard Cook
  • Date: 22 March 2013
  • Copyright: University of Waterloo

Statistics in Medicine is proud to publish the Armitage Lecture 2011 - The Design and Analysis of Life History Studies which is available here. This article is based on the lecture by Jerald F. Lawless, who delivered the 2011 Armitage Lecture in the Biostatistics Unit of the Medical Research Council in Cambridge. Here Richard Cook, Professor of Statistics at the University of Waterloo interviews Professor Lawless about this article.

Life history studies collect information on events and other outcomes during people's lifetimes. For example, these may be related to childhood development, education, fertility, health, or employment. Such longitudinal studies have constraints on the selection of study members, the duration and frequency of follow-up, and the accuracy and completeness of information obtained. These constraints, along with factors associated with the definition and measurement of certain outcomes, affect our ability to understand, model, and analyze life history processes. My objective here is to discuss and illustrate some issues associated with the design and analysis of life history studies. Copyright © 2013 John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.

thumbnail image: Statistics in Medicine - Armitage Lecture 2011

Video interview

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.