Call for Nominations for C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize


  • Author: Statistics Views (source:International Statistical Institute)
  • Date: 28 July 2016
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of

The C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize was established to honor and recognize outstanding and influential innovations in the theory and practice of mathematical statistics, international leadership in directing statistical research, and pioneering contributions by a recognized leader in the field of statistics.

thumbnail image: Call for Nominations for C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize

The Rao Prize is awarded by the Department of Statistics at Penn State University to a nominee selected by the members of the Rao Prize Committee. C. R. Rao, Emeritus Professor of Statistics at Penn State, held the Eberly Chair in Statistics at Penn State from 1988 to 2001.

Previous Rao Prize recipients are:

2003: Bradley Efron, Stanford University
2005: Jayaram Sethuraman, Florida State University (emeritus)
2007: Lawrence D. Brown, University of Pennsylvania
2009: Peter J. Bickel, University of California, Berkeley
2011: James O. Berger, Duke University
2013: Herman Chernoff, Harvard University (emeritus) and MIT
2015: Sir David Cox, University of Oxford

For additional information, see

Nominations for the 2017 Rao Prize should be submitted by December 31, 2016 by email to or by regular mail to:

Chair, Rao Prize Selection Committee
326 Thomas Building
Penn State University
University Park, PA 16802-2111

The Rao Prize shall be awarded in odd numbered years. The award recipient will receive a medal, a cash prize, and an invitation to visit Penn State and give a talk as part of a daylong workshop.

Nominations should include a letter describing the nominee’s outstanding contributions to leadership and research in statistics, a current curriculum vita, and two supporting letters.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.