Teaching Statistics announces C. Oswald George Prize


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 04 April 2016
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of Wiley

Paul Hewson and Helen MacGillivray, joint editors of Teaching Statistics, have announced that Aisling Leavy and Mairéad Hourigan's paper “Motivating Inquiry in Statistics and Probability in the Primary Classroom” has been awarded the C. Oswald George prize for 2015. This was a well written paper which received praise from its reviewers from the start. The editors felt it was an insightful paper which demonstrates how to engage primary school students in statistical thinking within the curriculum.

thumbnail image: Teaching Statistics announces C. Oswald George Prize

C. Oswald George was an eminent government statistician in the UK; one of the founders of the Institute of Statistics who served as Chairman orPresident. He donated a sum of money for the ‘best paper, especially submitted by younger authors, in the field of applied statistics’. The prize was subsequently attached to the Institute's own professional exams. After the formation of Teaching Statistics in 1979, the Institute made the prize money available for the best article in Teaching Statistics, and this prize has continued to be made available following their merger with the Royal Statistical Society. Dr. C. Oswald George died on 6 January 1974, and his obituary appeared on the Journal of the Royal Statistical Society Series A 137:457–458. The editors are pleased to be able to honour his legacy each year through the award of this prize to the ‘best’ article in Teaching Statistics.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.