Call for nominations for the VvS+OR Awards


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 07 December 2015
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of iStock Photo

For statisticians at Netherlands Universities, the deadline to nominate candidates for the Willem R. van Zwet Award 2015, and the Jan Hemelrijk Award 2015 is coming closer.

In recognition of an outstanding graduation performance, the Jan Hemelrijk Award (formerly known as VvS+OR Master's Thesis Award) is bestowed each year to a master's thesis in statistics or operations research. The prize consists of a certificate and €1000.

thumbnail image: Call for nominations for the VvS+OR Awards

Eligible candidates are graduates from the academic years 2013/2014 and 2014/2015 who have not been nominated before. The closing date for entries is fixed at December 19, 2015. For full details please visit the VvS + OR website here.

The Netherlands Society for Statistics and Operations Research is also proud to announce the Willem R. van Zwet Award, an award that will be bestowed annually on an excellent PhD in statistics or operations research obtained at a Dutch university. 
The prize consists of a certificate and €1000.

Eligible candidates must have successfully defended their PhD thesis during the academic year 2012/2013 or 2013/2014. The closing date for entries is fixed at 19 December 2015.

 Supervisors (promoters) are invited to submit nominations for the 2015 Willem R. van Zwet Award.
 For full details and a nomination form please visit the website here.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.