Where would the world be without mathematics?


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 05 November 2015
  • Copyright: Image courtesy of Getty Images

The British Society for the History of Mathematics, in association with Plus magazine, has announced a new competition inviting young people aged 11 to 19 to explore the history of maths for a chance to win cash prizes.

Where does mathematics come from? How do we know what is true? What is the contribution of a particular person or culture? The British Society for the History of Mathematics (BSHM) believes that answers to questions like these form an important part of understanding mathematics today.

thumbnail image: Where would the world be without mathematics?

From computer games to smart phones, and from the weather forecast to our solar system, mathematics is essential in describing and understanding the world around us. It has been part of human culture for millennia. This competition, launched by the British Society for the History of Mathematics (working with Plus), invites young people to explore how mathematics has developed and achieved its status, and communicate their findings to a wide audience.

A number of cash prizes will be awarded, depending upon the quality and the number of entries. The maximum prize will be £100. Winners will be announced at the BSHM meeting at Birkbeck College on 21st May 2016.

The deadline for entries is Thursday 24th March 2016. Rules, guidelines and entry form can be found on the BSHM website.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.