Jef Teugels wins ISI President's Award


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 26 August 2015
  • Copyright: Wiley

The International Statistical Institute have announced that Jef Teugels has been awarded the ISI President's Award 'in recognition of exceptional and innovative contributions to the ISI's mission.'

Professor Teugels is based at the Division of Statistics, KU Leuven, Belgium, where he studied mathematics before going on to Purdue to complete his PhD, at a time where no  assistantships  for mathematics  existed  in  Leuven. Teugels then returned to Leuven, despite offers from US institutions, to become its first professor in stochastics.

thumbnail image: Jef Teugels wins ISI President's Award

He later became chairman of the newly created Department of Mathematics at the KU Leuven in 1969. Teugels played a fundamnetal role in the creation of the Bernoulli Society and was the Society's first scientific secretary from 1975 to 1985. He was later elected as President and served from 1995 to 1997, as well as President of the Belgian Statistical Society from 1991 to 1993.

From 2009-2011, Teugels served as President of the ISI. He has authored numerous articles and books and has been the Editor for the Encyclopedia of Actuarial Science for many years and played a leading role in the creation of WileyStatsRef, our comprehensive online resource in statistics.

Wiley congratulates Professor Teugels on his award.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.