Bernoulli Society announces Ethel Newbold Prize winner


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 03 August 2015
  • Copyright: Image copyright of Université Paris Dauphine

The Bernoulli Society has announced that the winner of the first Ethel Newbold Prize is Professor Judith Rousseau, Professor of Statistics at CEREMADE, Université Paris Dauphine. Her research interests focus on Bayesian statistics and the interraction between Bayesian and frequentist approaches.

Last year, the Society approved the establishment of the prize for excellence in statistics, which will now be awarded every 2 years. The name of the prize recognizes a historically important role of women in statistics and is supported by Wiley. It can be awarded to a recipient of any gender who is an outstanding statistical scientist for a body of work that represents excellence in research in mathematical statistics and/or excellence in research that links developments in a substantive field to new advances in statistics.

thumbnail image: Bernoulli Society announces Ethel Newbold Prize winner

Ethel Newbold was an English epidemiologist and statistician. She was educated at Tunbridge Wells High School, and Newnham College, Cambridge. She first taught at Godolphin School, Salisbury. Her move to Statistics was induced by her work during the First World War in the Ministry of Munitions. She studied for a M.Sc. in the University of London, which she received in 1926, and was awarded a Doctorate in 1929. She became a member of the Medical Research Council in 1921, working on medical and industrial studies.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.