Submissions Open for Savage and Mitchell Prizes


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 04 March 2015
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of Getty Images

The Prize Committee of ISBA is pleased to call for submissions for the 2015 Savage Awards and Mitchell Prize. The deadline for submissions, which can be made online, is 31 May 2015.

The Mitchell Prize is given in recognition of an outstanding paper that describes how a Bayesian analysis has solved an important applied problem.

For details on the Mitchell Prize, including names of past winners, eligibility details, and the on-line application procedure, please visit The prize includes a check for $1000 and a plaque. The winner(s) will be announced at the 13th ISBA World Meeting in Sardinia, Italy, 13-17 June 2016.

thumbnail image: Submissions Open for Savage and Mitchell Prizes

The Savage Award, named in honor of Leonard J. "Jimmie" Savage, is bestowed each year to two outstanding doctoral dissertations in Bayesian econometrics and statistics, one each in Theory & Methods and Applied Methodology. For further details, visit Up to two awards of $750 will be awarded. Finalists will be notified in December 2015 and invited to present their dissertation research at a special contributed session at the 13th ISBA World Meeting.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.