British Science Association 2015 Award Lectures


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 18 December 2014
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of iStock Photo

The British Science Association has announced that nominations for the annual Award Lectures and the call for proposals for the British Science Festival 2015 are now open. The Festival will be held at the University of Bradford from 7 to 10 September 2015.

thumbnail image: British Science Association 2015 Award Lectures

The Award Lectures aim to promote open and informed discussion on issues involving science and actively encourage scientists to explore the social aspects of their research. The nominees should be active, early career researchers who are skilled in communicating their research and who are able to present their Award Lecture during the Festival. Many of the previous Award Lecturers are now successful science communicators and include Brian Cox, Richard Wiseman and Maggie Aderin-Pocock.

Awards are available in 5 different areas:

Rosalind Franklin - physical sciences and mathematics

Margaret Mead - social sciences

Isambard Kingdom Brunel - engineering, technology and industry

Charles Lyell - environmental sciences

Charles Darwin - agricultural, biological and medical sciences

The selected lecturers will receive an all expenses paid trip to the British Science Festival, a £250 honorarium and an invitation to the Festival Dinner.

For more information on how to submit a proposal, visit the Awards website. The closing date for submissions is 2 March 2015.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.