Free online access to Scandinavian Journal of Statistics article


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 14 November 2014

Each week, we select an article hot off the press and provide free access. This week's article is from Scandinavian Journal of Statistics, available on Early View, the online version of record published prior to issue allocation.

To read the article in full, please click the link below:

Non-parametric Bayesian Hazard Regression for Chronic Disease Risk Assessment
O. Saarela and E. Arjas
DOI: 10.1111/sjos.12125

thumbnail image: Free online access to Scandinavian Journal of Statistics article

Assessing the absolute risk for a future disease event in presently healthy individuals has an important role in the primary prevention of cardiovascular diseases (CVD) and other chronic conditions. In this paper, we study the use of non-parametric Bayesian hazard regression techniques and posterior predictive inferences in the risk assessment task. We generalize our previously published Bayesian multivariate monotonic regression procedure to a survival analysis setting, combined with a computationally efficient estimation procedure utilizing case–base sampling. To achieve parsimony in the model fit, we allow for multidimensional relationships within specified subsets of risk factors, determined either on a priori basis or as a part of the estimation procedure. We apply the proposed methods for 10-year CVD risk assessment in a Finnish population.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.