ISI invites submissions for 2015 Jan Tinbergen Awards


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 21 October 2014

The International Statistical Institute has announced that they are now accepting submissions for the 2015 Jan Tinbergen Awards for young statisticians from developing countries. It is expected that up to three award winners will be selected.

Jan Tinbergen (1903 –1994) was a Dutch economist who won the Nobel Prize for Economic Sciences in 1969 with Ragnar Frisch for developing and applying dynamic models for the analysis of economic processes. Tinbergen was also a founding trustee of Economists for Peace and Security. As well as developing a macroeconomic model, he is best known for his 'Tinbergen Norm', which is the principle that, if in a company the difference between the lowest and highest income exceeds a rate of 1:5 then the company will incur a loss.

thumbnail image: ISI invites submissions for 2015 Jan Tinbergen Awards

The awards will be presented at the 60th ISI World Statistics Congress (WSC) in Rio de Janeiro from 26 to 31 July 2015.

Each award consists of €2,500 in prize money (total per paper), generously provided by the Dutch ‘Stichting Internationaal Statistisch Studiefonds’, and support for travel, accommodation, and daily expenses to participate in the WSC in Rio de Janeiro. Travel support will be provided only to one author per paper.

The paper can focus on any area within the broad field of statistical sciences.
The paper must be an unpublished, original contribution. It may include material from the author’s theses.
The paper must be written in English.
The author and all co-authors (if any) of the paper must be born in 1983 or later. We strongly encourage applications from women.
The author and all co-authors (if any) must be permanent resident(s) of a developing country. See for the list of developing countries.
Previous winners of the award are not eligible (even as co-authors).

The submitted papers will be evaluated by an International Selection Committee of experienced statisticians who will decide on the awards. The Committee’s decision is final.

The main criterion that will be used in assessing the contributions is statistical originality and innovation. The paper can make contributions in one or more of the following areas: a) statistical theory, b) development of new methodology, and c) innovative use of existing statistical methods to a significant application in the sciences, engineering, or business.

Below are some of the criteria that will be used in the assessment:

1. New methodology should deal with an important and interesting problem. The properties must be studied reasonably well, the results should be compared with existing methodology, and their usefulness should be demonstrated through theoretical and/or simulation results and/or applications.
2. Purely theoretical contributions will be assessed based on the importance of the problem, the technical novelty of the results, how generally applicable they are, their technical correctness, and mathematical rigour.
3. Papers on the innovative use of statistical methods to an application will be assessed based on the importance of the application and the level of innovation in the use of statistical methods. The threshold for innovation here is very high, and case-study papers and routine papers on applications will not be considered.

In addition to the above, the paper should be well organized and written clearly.

Process for submitting papers:
The application should be submitted online here. You will be asked to upload the paper at the end of the online application. (If you have difficulty uploading the paper, it can be sent as a pdf file to with the Subject "Tinbergen Competition".)
Applications and papers must be submitted by 10 December 2014.
The paper must be prepared according to the instructions.
In addition to the instructions for the paper, resumes may be 2 pages maximum.

Announcement of results:
An International Selection Committee of experienced statisticians, appointed by the ISI, will evaluate all eligible submissions and select the winners. The Committee's decision is final.

The results will be communicated to all participants by the ISI Permanent Office by the end of March 2015.
The winners will be contacted by the ISI Permanent Office to make arrangements for travel to the WSC in Rio de Janeiro in July 2015.

For further details about the process of submitting a paper, please visit here.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.