Free online access to Journal of Time Series Analysis article


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 20 October 2014

Each week, we select an article hot off the press and provide free access. This week's article is from the Journal of Time Series Analysis, available on Early View, the online version of record published prior to issue allocation.

To read the article in full, please clck the link below:

Block Bootstrap Theory for Multivariate Integrated and Cointegrated Processes
Carsten Jentsch, Dimitris N. Politis and Efstathios Paparoditis
DOI: 10.1111/jtsa.12088

thumbnail image: Free online access to Journal of Time Series Analysis article

We develop some asymptotic theory for applications of block bootstrap resampling schemes to multivariate integrated and cointegrated time series. It is proved that a multivariate, continuous-path block bootstrap scheme applied to a full rank integrated process succeeds in estimating consistently the distribution of the least squares estimators in both the regression and the spurious regression case. Furthermore, it is shown that the same block resampling scheme does not succeed in estimating the distribution of the parameter estimators in the case of cointegrated time series. For this situation, a modified block resampling scheme, the so-called residual-based block bootstrap, is investigated, and its validity for approximating the distribution of the regression parameters is established. The performance of the proposed block bootstrap procedures is illustrated in a short simulation study.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.