2014 RSS Award for Excellence in the Pharmaceutical Industry


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 15 July 2014
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of iStock Photo

The Royal Statistical Society (RSS) and Statisticians in the Pharmaceutical Industry (PSI) have announced the winner of the 2014 Award for Statistical Excellence in the Pharmaceutical Industry.

This award recognises statistical innovation or outstanding application of existing statistical practice that has strengthened investigations in the pharmaceutical industry.

thumbnail image: 2014 RSS Award for Excellence in the Pharmaceutical Industry

Craig Mallinckrodt, Research Fellow at Eli Lilly & Company, was the recipient of the 2014 award, for his book, ‘Preventing and Treating Missing Data in Longitudinal Clinical Trials’, which provides a comprehensive ‘analytical roadmap’ for missing data in longitudinal clinical studies. The book has been praised for drawing together many strands of academic research on analysis techniques, and has influenced regulators, academics and pharmaceutical companies in their approach to the treatment of missing data, and for being accessible to a wide variety of researchers.

Take a look at Craig’s most recent articles in Pharmaceutical Statistics here:

C H Mallinckrodt, Q Lin, I Lipkovich and G Molenberghs, ‘A structured approach to choosing estimands and estimators in longitudinal clinical trials’, 2012.

I Lipkovich, C H Mallinckrodt and D E Faries, ‘The challenges of evaluating dose response in flexible-dose trials using marginal structural models’, 2012.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.