ASA launches committee on Data Sharing and Reproducibility


  • Author: Statistics Views and Ron Wasserstein
  • Date: 15 May 2014
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of iStock Photo

In a recent blog post, Ron Wasserstein, Executive Director of the American Statistical Association, announced the formation of an ad hoc committee on Data Sharing and Reproducibility.

The committee has been formed to address the issues surrounding data sharing from a statistical perspective. It has also connected with the association's Committee on Publications to explore ways to promote the sharing of data in articles published in their journals.

thumbnail image: ASA launches committee on Data Sharing and Reproducibility

Wasserstein outlines the issues that the ASA wish to tackle in terms of data sharing and reproducibility:

  • Who does data belong to, especially when it is collected using federal funds?
  • What are the most effective ways of sharing data so that science is advanced while protecting the intellectual property of those who collected it and any personal data it might contain?
  • How do we make sure research results are widely available, especially research that was supported by federal funds?
  • How do we make it possible to check the reproducibility of research results? (By “reproducibility” we mean that analyzing the same data the same way gets the same results.)
  • How can we make sure the work is replicable? (If the same experiment is conducted another time, do we get the same result?)

As Wasserstein states, 'statisticians see much to be concerned about in these areas of reproducibility, replicability, and generalizability.' So what can statisticians do to address this matter?

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.