Statistician wins UK's first ever Winter Paralympics Gold


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 19 March 2014
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of iStock Photo

On 16th March, Kelly Gallagher, along with her team-mate Charlotte Evans, won the UK's first ever Paralympic Gold Medal in the Women's Super G competition. What many do not know is that Gallagher, from Bangor, Co Down, Northern Ireland, was a government statistician before taking up the sport.

Gallagher obtained a BSC in mathematics from the University of Bath in 2006, followed by an MRes in Social Research Methods and Sociology from Queens University, Belfast. She is the first athlete from Northern Ireland to compete in the Winter Paralympics.

thumbnail image: Statistician wins UK's first ever Winter Paralympics Gold

She has oculocutaneous albinism, is visually impaired and competes with a sighted guide, Charlotte Evans from Medway, Kent. With their win they have made history: the first British athletes to win on the slopes at a Winter Games, Olympic or Paralympic.

Gallagher was a latecomer to skiing, starting when she was 17 after being inspired during a family holiday. There is limited funding for skiing within the UK and Gallagher had to combine her new passion with her day job as an assistant statistician at Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency. She is currently on a career break from the same role. She's obviously unlikely to return to the day job in a hurry!

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.