2013 winner of C Oswald George Prize announced


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 21 January 2014
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of iStock Photo

Teaching Statistics Co-Editors, Paul Hewson and Helen MacGillivray, are pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 C Oswald George Prize as Yonggang Lu and Kevin Henning for their article, ‘Are statisticians cold-blooded bosses? A new perspective on the ‘old’ concept of statistical population’.

Spurred by recent writings regarding statistical pragmatism, the authors propose a simple and practical approach to introduce students to a new style of statistical thinking that models nature though data-generating processes, not populations.

thumbnail image: 2013 winner of C Oswald George Prize announced

Paul and Helen write: ‘We are pleased to feature an article that addresses the conceptual understanding of learners for such an important concept in such a clear manner. We hope that this article will initiate a debate on this concept and that other authors will respond to this article via submissions of their own.’

The article is freely available to read until the end of the year on Wiley Online Library.

About the Prize

Dr C Oswald George was an eminent UK government statistician. Dr George was one of the founders of the Institute of Statisticians (originally The Association of Incorporated Statisticians Ltd) in 1948, and served as Chairman or President for many years. He donated a sum of money for the establishment of a prize, which was initially awarded to ‘the best paper, especially submitted by younger authors, in the field of applied statistics’. This prize was later associated with the Institute of Statisticians’ professional examinations. When Teaching Statistics was founded in 1979, the Institute generously made the prize available to the best article published in the journal each year. When the Institute merged with the Royal Statistical Society in 1993, the prize continued. This prestigious award is now funded by the Royal Statistical Society on behalf of Teaching Statistics.

Previous recipients of the prize include:

2012: Roger Porkess and Stephen Mason – ‘Looking at debit and credit card fraud’
2011: Jane Watson – ‘Cheating partners, conditional probability and contingency tables’
2010: Sue Kraus – ‘Monstrous methods for teaching centralt tendency concepts’
2009: Chris Du Feu – ‘Having a whale of a time’

We are pleased to honour Dr George’s memory every year through the award of the prize.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.