Networks announces Best Paper Prize winners


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 10 January 2014

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2012 Glover-Klingman Prize, which is awarded each year to the authors of the best paper published in Networks: An International Journal.

Bidirectional A* search on time-dependent road networks
Giacomo Nannicini, Daniel Delling, Dominik Schultes, Leo Liberti

Each co-author of the winning paper will receive a certificate and a cash award. The article is available to view for free until the end of February.

thumbnail image: Networks announces Best Paper Prize winners

The prize is given in honour of Fred Glover and Darwin Klingman (1944-1989), who published more than 100 articles on the innovative implementation of network optimization algorithms. Their goal was to reduce computation time and memory requirements, thereby enabling solution of the larger, more realistic problems that confronted and continue to confront practitioners. In their joint work, they developed special list structures, labeling techniques, and clever hybrid algorithms and successfully applied these ideas to a variety of network optimization problems.

The Glover-Klingman Prize pays tribute to the high quality of their work at the interface of operations research and computer science. The prize, however, is for outstanding work in the general area of network modeling, analysis, and implementation, and is not limited to papers at the OR/CS interface.

The Editors-in-Chief, with assistance from members of the Editorial Board of Networks, select the winners of this annual award.

To view all the Glover-Klingman Award Winning Papers, please click here.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.