IAOS launches competition for young statisticians


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 21 November 2013
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of iStock Photo

The International Association for Official Statistics has announced a competition is to be launched to encourage more young statisticians to take an active interest in official statistics.

The award will be given to the best paper in the field of official statistics written by a statistician under the age of 35. Up to three winning papers may receive monetary prizes. In addition, the first place winner will receive travel funds to present the paper at the IAOS Conference in DaNang, Vietnam in October 2014.

thumbnail image: IAOS launches competition for young statisticians

The Association encourages 'submitters to address, and propose solutions to, pressing methodological or strategic issues in the area of official statistics at the local, regional, national or international level. The paper must be ten or fewer pages in length, be submitted in English, and not have been previously presented in a public forum or published. An international panel will judge the papers based on the following criteria:

• Scientific and/or strategic merit;
• Originality;
• Applicability of the ideas in (practice of) statistical offices; and
• Quality of the exposition.

Papers must be submitted by February 3, 2014 until 11:59 PM according to (GMT +2) time. The decision of the panel will be final. Prizes will only be awarded if papers of significant quality are submitted.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.