ISBA announces 2012 Mitchell Prize Winner


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 16 August 2013
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of University College London

It has certainly been a fortnight for award announcements and the latest is from the International Society for Bayesian Analysis who have awarded their 2012 Mitchell Prize to Dr Ioanna Manolopoulou and her research collaborators for their paper "Bayesian Spatio-Dynamic Modelling in Cell Motility Studies: Learning Nonlinear Taxic Fields Guiding Immune Response".

thumbnail image: ISBA announces 2012 Mitchell Prize Winner

The paper won the award due to ‘its sophisticated development of model-based inference methods in the expanding field of immune-cell dynamics’ (ISBA press release, 8th August 2013).

The Mitchell Prize is awarded annually in recognition of an outstanding paper that describes how a Bayesian analysis has solved an important applied problem. The Prize is jointly sponsored by the Section on Bayesian Statistical Science (SBSS) of the ASA, the International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA), and the Mitchell Prize Founders' Committee. For more information, please visit here.

The article is was published in Journal of the American Statistical Association, Volume 107, Issue 499, 2012   

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.