Wiley authors elected to National Academy


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 17 June 2013
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of iStock Photo

The National Academy of Sciences has announced the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from 14 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

thumbnail image: Wiley authors elected to National Academy

Amongst those included are Éva Tardos of Cornell University, a regular contributor to Networks (please see link here for her latest paper), Avi Wigderson of the Institute for Advanced Study, who writes regularly for Random Structures & Algorithms (please link here to his latest paper) and Peter Hall of University of Melbourne, a regular contributor to the Journal of the Royal Statistical Society – Series B (please see link here for his latest paper).

Those elected bring the total number of active members to 2,179 and the total number of foreign associates to 437. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.Celebrating its 150th year, the NAS is a private, non-profit society of distinguished scholars charged with providing independent, objective advice to the nation on matters related to science and technology.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.