ASA honours 59 new fellows


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 07 June 2013
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of iStock Photo

The American Statistical Association yesterday announced that a total of 59 members would be honoured as Fellows this year.

thumbnail image: ASA honours 59 new fellows

Each year, fellows are named for being ‘recognized for outstanding professional contributions to and leadership in the field of statistical science. The new fellows are from 21 states and six countries’ (ASA press release, 6th June 2013). The naming of fellows has occurred now for nearly 100 years.

The fellows will be presented with a certificate each at JSM 2013 on 6th August 2013 in Montreal, Canada.

‘Under ASA bylaws, the Committee on Fellows can elect up to one-third of one percent of the total membership as fellows each year. Individuals are nominated by their peers in the association membership. To be honoured, nominees must have an established reputation and have made outstanding contributions in statistical science. The Committee on Fellows evaluates each candidate’s contributions to the advancement of statistical science and places due weight to published works, the position held with their employer, ASA activities, membership and accomplishments in other societies and other professional activities’ (ASA press release, 6th June 2013).

Amongst the fellows named are W.Y. Wendy Lou, outgoing Publications Chair of the Statistical Society Canada which publishes the Canadian Journal of Statistics with Wiley, Professor Jennifer Hoeting of Colorado State University and co-author of Computational Statistics, Ingrid van Keilegom, Editor of Journal of the Royal Statistical Society Series B and Sylvia Esterby of University of British Columbia Okanagan, Honorary Editor of Environmetrics.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.