Marvin Zelen Award winner for 2013 announced


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 24 May 2013
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of Dr Zelen

The Department of Biostatistics at the Harvard School of Public Health has announced that Dr John J. Crowley, President and CEO of Cancer Research And Biostatistics (CRAB), has been awarded the 2013 Marvin Zelen Leadership Award in Statistical Science. Dr Crowley will today deliver a public lecture on statistical science at the Harvard School of Public Health.

thumbnail image: Marvin Zelen Award winner for 2013 announced

This award was named after Professor Marvin Zelen, an eminent statistician and professor at Harvard University best known for his work in biostatistics. had the honour of recently interviewing Dr Zelen and the interview is available here.

‘The award recognizes an individual in government, industry, or academia, who by virtue of his/her outstanding leadership, has greatly impacted the theory and practice of statistical science. While individual accomplishments are considered, the most distinguishing criterion is the awardee's contribution to the creation of an environment in which statistical science and its applications have flourished.’

Last year’s winner was Professor Nicholas P. Jewell, Professor of Statistics at the University of California, Berkeley and an interview with him is available here.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.