ASA releases three-year JSM survey results


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 15 April 2013
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of iStock Photo

The American Statistical Association has released survey results conducted after the past three Joint Statistical Meetings. The survey focusses on how satisfied speakers are after their presentation during the JSMs of 2010 (Vancouver), 2011 (Miami Beach) and 2012 (San Diego).

thumbnail image: ASA releases three-year JSM survey results

Jean Opsomer, JSM 2014 Program Chair and Melissa Francis of Colorado State University say that the survey ‘gives us a unique opportunity to evaluate results over a longer period and, in particular, look for changes over time’ (Amstat News, 1st April 2013).

A total of 3187 presenters responded who were on the whole satisfied with their experience whilst only 2.5% of respondents were unhappy. Opsomer and Francis note that the survey results are remarkably similar when compared year by year, however poster presenters have in the past not done so well. In 2009, 60% of poster presenters expressed only moderate satisfaction but from 2010-2012 but in 2012, the results are almost akin to that of lecture presenters.

This must give the ASA and other societies some hope as it is being considered that the number of poster sessions increase in order to deal with the ever expanding list of participants so that each person’s work may be seen.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.