Former RSS President gains new post at UK Statistics Authority


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 05 April 2013
  • Copyright: Photograph appears courtesy of Professor David J Hand

Former RSS President David Hand is to take up the post of non-Executive Director of the UK Statistics Authority starting from this month.

thumbnail image: Former RSS President gains new post at UK Statistics Authority

Professor Hand was named in the New Year’s Honours List and was awarded an OBE for services to research and innovation. He was President of the Royal Statistical Society from 2008-2009 and again in 2010 when Bernard Silverman stepped down to take on his new governmental post. He has served on a number of research councils over the years including the Office for National Statistics Methodology Advisory Committee, UK Strategic Forum for the Social Sciences, and currently the ONS Measuring National Wellbeing Technical Advisory Group. He is also now Chief Scientific Advisor at Winton Capital Management and Professor of Statistics in the Department of Mathematics at Imperial College, as well as Head of the Statistics Section and Associate Head (Research) of the Department.

According to RSS News (28th March 2013), Professor Hand’s appointment coincides with that of Carolyn Fairbairn, non-executive director at Lloyds Bank who will also assume the same role with the Authority.

An interview with Professor Hand will be appearing on soon.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.