Teacher's Corner article now available


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 26 March 2013

The latest Teacher’s Corner article is now available to download in Volume 12, Issue 2 (March/April) 2013 from Pharmaceutical Statistics.

thumbnail image: Teacher's Corner article now available

The title of the article, ‘Structured approach to the elicitation of expert beliefs for a Bayesian-designed clinical trial: a case study' is written by Nelson Kinnersley and Simon Day, who focus on how ‘to assess how feasible it is to conduct an elicitation session in a structured manner and to form a probability distribution that would be used in a hypothetical early-stage trial. The case study revealed that by using a structured approach to planning, training and conduct, it is feasible to elicit expert beliefs and form a probability distribution in a timely manner. We argue that by further increasing the published accounts of elicitation of expert beliefs in drug development, there will be increased confidence in the feasibility of conducting elicitation sessions. Furthermore, this will lead to wider dissemination of the pertinent issues on how to quantify uncertainty to both practicing statisticians and others involved with designing trials in a Bayesian manner.’

The Teacher’s Corner section was put together to showcase case studies that share experiences in the practical application of statistics within the pharmaceutical industry.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.