Next Joint PSI/RSS Journal Club announced


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 22 March 2013

The next Statisticians in the Pharmaceutical Industry (PSI) Journal Club, which Wiley are pleased to sponsor, will be a joint session with the Royal Statistical Society (RSS).

thumbnail image: Next Joint PSI/RSS Journal Club announced

The session, which will focus on topics in Survival Analysis, will be held on Tuesday 16th April at 2 -3:30 pm (UK time). The discussions will by chaired by James Carpenter (London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine). Speakers Abdus S. Wahed (University of Pittsburgh and the RSS) and Nicola Schmitt (AztraZeneca and the PSI) will present the following papers published in the Journal of the Royal Statistical Society and Pharmaceutical Statistics, respectively:

Abdus S. Wahed and Peter F. Thall, Evaluating joint effects of induction-salvage treatment regimes on overall survival in acute leukaemia, Journal of the Royal Statistical Society: Series C (Applied Statistics), Issue 62:1 (2013), pages 67-83 (access freely available).

S. Hong, N. Schmitt, A. Stone and J. Denne, Attenuation of treatment effect due to measurement variability in assessment of progression-free survival, Pharmaceutical Statistics, Issue 11:5 (2012), pages 394-402 (access freely available to PSI members, freely available to all from 8th April – 7th May).

Journal Club participants are encouraged to submit questions in advance of the session. Please submit any questions via

For more information, please visit here.    

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.