Applications called for Ellis R. Ott Scholarship


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 08 February 2013
  • Copyright: Photograph appears courtesy of iStock Photo

The American Society for Quality has announced that their statistics division has a number of scholarships totaling $7,500 to support students who are studying for a MA or higher education program in applied statistics and/or quality management at a North American institution.

The Ellis R. Ott scholarship was named after an honorary member of the ASQ, who was a leading statistician known as 'the father of industrial statistics' due to his pioneering work in the use of graphical methods for applied statistical analysis.

thumbnail image: Applications called for Ellis R. Ott Scholarship

Studies can involve ‘the theory and application of statistical inference, statistical decision-making, experimental design, analysis and interpretation of data, statistical process control, quality control, quality assurance, quality improvement, quality management, and related fields. The emphasis is on applications, as opposed to theory…Qualified applicants must have graduated in good academic standing in any field of undergraduate study. Scholarship awards are based on demonstrated ability, academic achievement, industrial and teaching experience, involvement in student or professional organizations, faculty recommendations, and career objectives' (ASA, 31st January 2012).

The deadline for applications to be handed in is 1st April 2013. Further information is available here.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.