Excellence in Statistical Reporting nominations open


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 05 February 2013
  • Copyright: Photograph appears courtesy of iStock Photo

The American Statistical Association has announced that nominations are now open for their Excellence in Statistical Reporting. Last year, the award was won by Amanda Cox, Graphics Editor for the New York Times and an interview with her in Significance is available here.

The Award consists of a cup which is in the current winner’s possession until the next winner is announced.

thumbnail image: Excellence in Statistical Reporting nominations open

According to the ASA, the award is 'based on the following criteria:

• Correctness, clarity, fairness, brevity, and professionalism of communications
• Importance, relevance, and overall effectiveness in affecting the intended audience
• Impact on the growth and national or regional exposure of statistics
• Appreciation for and emphasis of the statistical aspects of a particular issue or event
• Excellent coverage of research on statistics or statistical issues’

(www.amstat.org, 2013).

The deadline for nominations to be sent in is 1st April 2013. For further information, including downloading a nomination form, please visit here.   

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.