Wiley author wins prestigious Wolf Prize


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 31 January 2013
  • Copyright: Photograph appears courtesy of MIT

Recipients of this year’s Wolf Foundation Prize have just been announced and they include Professor Michael Artin, who has won the Prize Laureate for Mathematics. Artin, Emeritus Professor of Mathematics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology  wrote one of the most highly cited papers in recent years for Communications on Pure and Applied Mathematics. The paper is available to read for a limited period here.

thumbnail image: Wiley author wins prestigious Wolf Prize

The Wolf Foundation Prize is awarded every year and divided into five subject areas: Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, Agriculture and Architecture. The prize of $100,000 is shared between the winners. Details about the other winners can be found here.  

According to the Minister of Education and Chairperson of the World Foundation, Gideon Sa’ar, who announced the recipients, “The announcement of the recipients of the 2013 Wolf Prize is a cause for celebration in the science and art community in the world and in Israel. This year’s prize recipients join a distinguished group of leading scientists and artists who have received this prestigious award. The activities of the Wolf Foundation and its international standings reflect Israel’s status as a leader in advanced science and research. In this term, we are investing in promoting research excellence, based on our determination to maintain and strengthen our status at the forefront of global research, which is crucial for Israel’s future. The State of Israel has made and continues to make a significant contribution toward scientific and intellectual excellence” (Wolf Foundation, 2013).

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.