WinAtSchool competition stage 2 launch


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 30 January 2013
  • Copyright: Photograph appears courtesy of iStock Photo

The Royal Statistical Society Centre for Statistical Education (RSSCSE) and Winton Capital Management are pleased to announce that the second stage of their WinAtSchool competition launches in February 2013.

thumbnail image: WinAtSchool competition stage 2 launch

WinAtSchool is a fun online competition in mathematics and statistics for Year 10 and 11 pupils at all UK secondary schools.

Stage 1 of the competition was launched In September 2012, and involves an online quiz consisting of multiple choice questions on statistics and related mathematics based on the Key Stage 4 Mathematics Curriculum. This is a taster, and is not part of the competition.

Stage 2 will take place during the 6-8 week window between February half term and Easter 2013 during school hours. The online stage 2 questions will also be multiple choice, but will be based on the top end of KS4 and beyond.

Competition finalists will be selected from the 12 top scoring UK schools at stage 2, with a team of four pupils from each school being invited to attend the live final in London in June 2013. The winning school will receive a prize for £2,500 with second and third prizes of £1,000 and £500, respectively.

 For more information, please visit: Registered schools will receive a WinAtSchool Resource Pack which includes posters, sample questions and resources to help prepare for the competition.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.