Stephen Senn Joins the Significance Editorial Board


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 04 January 2013

We are delighted to welcome Professor Stephen Senn to the Editorial Board of Significance, the bimonthly magazine and website of the Royal Statistical Society and the American Statistical Association.

thumbnail image: Stephen Senn Joins the Significance Editorial Board

Stephen studied economics and statistics at the University of Exeter, completed an MSc there in information processing and subsequently obtained a PhD in statistics from part time study at the University of Dundee. He has worked for the NHS in Tunbridge Wells, the Dundee College Technology, CIBA-Geigy in Basle, Switzerland, University College London and the University of Glasgow but is now head of the Competence Center for Methodology and Statistics at the Centre de Recherche Publique de la Santé in Luxembourg. He has written several times for Significance and is the author of Dicing with Death (Cambridge, 2003), an attempt to explain to the general public what it is that medical statisticians do. His hobbies include ski-touring and hill-walking and he is trying to complete the ascent of all the Munros (mountains over 3000ft in Scotland) – current score 260 done, 24 to go. His proudest professional achievement is having captained the Royal Statistical Society team that got to the final of University Challenge the Professionals in 2006.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.