Head of UN Statistics Division resigns


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 29 November 2012
  • Copyright: Photograph appears courtesy of iStock Photo

Professor Paul Cheung, Head of the United Nations Statistics Division, has announced his resignation. On 27th November, a letter was sent to the statistical community declaring his wish to leave due to personal reasons. Professor Cheung will serve until the end of the year and will be returning to his home country of Singapore where he will teach at the National University.

thumbnail image: Head of UN Statistics Division resigns

Professor Cheung has served as Head since 2004 and thanked those who have supported him during his tenure. ‘Together we have evolved the global statistical system into a cohesive community, with the UN Statistical Commission universally recognised as its apex entity. In 2004, only 76 member states attended the Commission; in 2012, there were 136, an 80% increase.’

Professor Cheung also described how during his tenure the Division received over $14 million from donors which enabled them to develop activities to which thousands of statisticians have attended and also helped to organise the first ever World Statistics Day in 2010 (his video message on World Statistics Day is included here, courtesy of YouTube).

Speculation is rife now as to whom will be his successor and recruitment is now under way. For the full letter by Professor Cheung, please visit the United Nations Statistics Division here.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.