VvS+OR Launch PhD Thesis Award 2012


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 20 November 2012

The Netherlands Society for Statistics and Operations Research (VvS+OR) have announced a new PhD thesis award that will annually be bestowed on an excellent PhD in statistics or operations research, obtained at a Dutch university. 
The prize consists of a certificate and €1000 (for the Master’s Thesis award, see here).

Eligible candidates must have successfully defended their PhD thesis during the academic year 2010/2011 or 2011/2012. The closing date for entries is fixed at 15 December 2012.

 The VvS+OR invites supervisors to submit nominations for the 2012 VvS+OR Ph.D. Thesis Award.

thumbnail image: VvS+OR Launch PhD Thesis Award 2012

See the VvS+OR website for the

  • nomination form PhD Thesis Award 2012
  • the formal regulations
  • the 2012 jury

The nomination form must be accompanied by a letter of recommendation. The letter should include:

  • A motivation: why does this Ph.D. thesis deserve an award?
  • Additional qualifications of the nominee

The nomination form and the recommendation letter should be sent to the VvS+OR at thesisaward@vvs-or.nl. Five hard-copies of the PhD thesis should be sent to the Secretary of the Jury at Dr Mark van der Loo, Central Bureau of Statistics, Methodology and Quality of Dpt, Room A3069, PO Box 24500, 2490 HA The Hague, Netherlands.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.