ASA announces nominations open for ESRA


  • Date: 06 November 2012

The American Statistical Association has announced that nominations are now open for the Excellence in Statistical Reporting for 2013. ‘The award is designed to encourage and recognize members of the communications media who have best displayed an informed interest in the science of statistics and its role in public life. The award can be given for a single statistical presentation or for sustained worthy contributions, as would clearly be a credit to the statistical profession.

thumbnail image: ASA announces nominations open for ESRA

Consideration shall be given to:

• Correctness, clarity, fairness, brevity, and professionalism of the communications
• Importance, relevance and overall effectiveness in impacting the intended audience
• Impact on the growth and national or regional exposure of statistics
• Appreciation and emphasis of the statistical aspects of a particular issue or event
• Excellent coverage of research on statistics or statistical issues’

Nominations should be emailed to Morteza Marzjarani, Committee Chair: Instructions and forms are available at 

Last year’s winner was Amanda Cox, Graphic Editor for the New York Times for her “outstanding contribution to the profession of statistics and her dedication to the discipline” according to Marzjarani. Significance recently featured an interview with Ms Cox which is available to read here.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.