2012 Committee of Presidents of Statistical Societies Awards


  • Date: 13 September 2012

The 2012 COPSS Awards were presented at the Joint Statistical Meetings in San Diego on 1 August 2012 by COPSS president Xihong Lin.

The winner of the Presidents’ Award was Samuel S. Kou from Harvard University, "for groundbreaking contributions to stochastic modeling and statistical inference in single molecule biophysics; for pioneering the equi-energy sampler; for fundamental contributions to Bayesian, empirical Bayes and nonparametric methods; and for outstanding service to the statistical profession and contribution to statistical education."

The winner of the Elizabeth L. Scott Award was Mary Gray from American University, "for her lifelong efforts to foster opportunities in statistics for women and to further the careers of academic women; and for creating a forum for discussing the role of women in mathematics, for exposing discrimination, and for exchanging strategies, encouraging political action, and promoting affirmative action."

The winner of the R.A. Fisher Award & Lectureship was Roderick J. Little, University of Michigan, "for outstanding statistical research in the modeling and evaluation of missing data, sample survey and causal inference; for the clear and comprehensive application of these and other methodologies in science and public policy arenas; and for diverse and effective professional and academic leadership contributions."

The COPSS Awards are jointly sponsored by the American Statistical Association, the Institute of Mathematical Statistics, the International Biometric Society ENAR, the International Biometric Society WNAR, and the Statistical Society of Canada.

Information on the call for nominations for the 2013 awards can be found here.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.