Eleventh Annual Janet L. Norwood Award


  • Date: 13 September 2012

Dr Nancy Flournoy, Professor in the Department of Statistics at the University of Missouri’s College of Arts and Science, is the recipient of the Eleventh Annual Janet L. Norwood Award for Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Statistical Sciences. The award was presented to Dr Flournoy at a ceremony at the University of Alabama at Birmingham on 12 September 2012.

Her research interests in theoretical and applied statistics include: clinical trials, adaptive sequential designs, transplantation biology and infectious disease, specifically cytomegalovirus at a key point prior to the AIDS epidemic

Dr Janet L. Norwood was the first woman commissioner of the US Bureau of Labor Statistics and is Past-President of the American Statistical Association. She was the Presidential appointment to the Chair of the Advisory Council on Unemployment Compensation from 1993 to 1996. From 1979 to 1991, Dr Norwood was the US Commissioner of Labor Statistics, responsible for the Bureau of Labor Statistics and its work in compilation, publication, and interpretation of statistics on employment and unemployment, prices, compensation, industrial relations, productivity, and economic growth.

For more information about the award, click here.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.