Call for Nominations for the CRM-SSC Prize in Statistics


  • Date: 28 August 2012

The Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) and the Statistical Society of Canada (SSC) solicit nominations for the CRM-SSC Prize, which is awarded in recognition of a statistical scientist’s professional accomplishments in research during the first fifteen years after earning a doctorate.

thumbnail image: Call for Nominations for the CRM-SSC Prize in Statistics

The award, which includes a $3,000 cash prize, is bestowed at most once a year upon a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada whose research was carried out primarily in Canada. Recipients of the award, since its creation in 1999, have been Christian Genest, Robert J. Tibshirani, Colleen D. Cutler, Larry A. Wasserman, Charmaine B. Dean, Randy R. Sitter, Jiahua Chen, Jeffrey S. Rosenthal, Richard J. Cook, Paul Gustafson, Hugh A. Chipman, Grace Y. Yi, Edward Susko, and Changbao Wu.

In 2013, eligibility will be limited to candidates who received their PhD (or an equivalent degree) in the year 1998 or subsequently. Current membership in the SSC is not a prerequisite. The nominations will be examined by an Advisory Committee consisting of five members, three of whom are appointed by the SSC and two by the CRM. The committee is chaired by one of the two CRM representatives.

Nominations, including at least three letters of support and an up-to-date curriculum vitæ (with a list of publications) should be submitted to the CRM before 1 February 2013. As files are not carried over from one year to the next, nominations must be renewed each year.

Please submit files to:
Monsieur le Directeur
Centre de recherches mathématiques
Université de Montréal
C.P. 6128, Centre-ville Station
Montréal (Québec)
Canada H3C 3J7

Phone: (514) 343-7501
Fax: (514) 343-2254

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.