C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize for Outstanding Research in Statistics - Call for Nominations


  • Date: 16 August 2012

Members of the Rao Prize Committee are accepting nominations for the C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize for Outstanding Research in Statistics. The prize, awarded by Penn State University’s Department of Statistics, was established to recognize outstanding and influential innovations in the theory and practice of mathematical statistics, international leadership in directing statistical research, and pioneering contributions by a recognized leader in the field of statistics.

thumbnail image: C. R. and Bhargavi Rao Prize for Outstanding Research in Statistics - Call for Nominations

The Rao Prize is awarded every two years (odd-numbered years) to an individual working in the United States. The awardee receives a medal, cash prize, and invitation to visit Penn State and give a talk.

Nominations should include a letter describing the nominee’s outstanding contributions to leadership and research in statistics, a current curriculum vita, and two supporting letter. The closing date for submissions is 3 December 2012 and they should be sent to Rao Prize Selection Committee Chair, 326 Thomas Building, Penn State University, University Park, PA 16802-2111, USA.

C. R. Rao held the Eberly Chair in Statistics at Penn State University from 1988 to 2001. He now serves as Holder Emeritus of the Eberly Chair in Statistics. He was the founding director of the Center for Multivariate Analysis. A President’s National Medal of Science Laureate, Rao is recognized worldwide as a pioneer of modern statistical theory and one of the world’s top five statisticians, with multifaceted distinctions as a mathematician, researcher, scientist, and teacher. His contributions to mathematics and statistical theory and applications have become part of undergraduate and graduate courses in statistics, econometrics, and electrical engineering at universities throughout the world.

Previous Rao Prize recipients were:

2003 - Bradley Efron, the Max H. Stein Professor in the Department of Statistics at Stanford University

2005 - Jayaram Sethuraman, former Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor and current Professor Emeritus and Adjunct Professor at Florida State University

2007 - Lawrence D. Brown, Miers Busch Professor and Professor of Statistics at the Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania

2009 - Peter J. Bickel, Professor of Statistics at the University of California, Berkeley

2011 - James O. Berger, The Arts and Sciences Professor of Statistics at Duke University

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on StatisticsViews.com are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and StatisticsViews.com express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.