ASA announces 2012 award recipients


  • Date: 01 August 2012

The American Statistical Association (ASA) honoured the following 2012 award winners at Tuesday’s (31st July) ceremony during JSM in San Diego, California:

Samuel S. Wilks Memorial AwardPeter Hall (University of Melbourne) for his pioneering and influential contributions to a wide variety of areas of statistics and probability, and for his outstanding service to the profession.
Gottfried E. Noether Young Scholar Award Guang Cheng (Purdue University) for outstanding early career contributions to nonparametric statistics.
Gottfried E. Noether Senior Scholar AwardJoseph L. Gastwirth (George Washington University) for outstanding contributions to the theory, applications and teaching of nonparametric statistics.
Outstanding Statistical Application Award Chae Young Lim and Sarat C. Dass (Michigan State University) for developing novel point process models with spatially dependent mark distributions and using them to assess fingerprint individuality.
Edward C. Bryant Scholarship Trust Fund Award Mark Dahlke (Colorado State University) for outstanding academic achievement in a statistical program.
W. J. Dixon Award for Excellence in Statistical ConsultingGary Grove Koch (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) for outstanding contributions to the development and review of pharmaceutical licensing applications, to the research on and software development of categorical data analysis, and for advancing the art of statistical computing.
Waller Education AwardMichael A. Posner (Villanova University) in recognition for outstanding contributions to and innovation in the teaching of elementary statistics.
The SPAIG AwardBaylor University and Eli Lilly & Company in recognition of the vision and support provided by Eli Lilly to Baylor University in the creation of a partnership for the enhancement of pharmaceutical research and development.
W. J. Youden Award David Dunson (Duke University) and Garritt L. Page (Pontifica Universidad Catolica de Chile) in recognition of their development of a simple but flexible hierarchical model to address multi-analyte, multi-laboratory studies with outlying observations, and testing of the model using both simulated and real interlaboratory study data.
Statistics in Chemistry AwardBradley Jones (JMP Division, SAS Institute) and Scott Allen (Novomer Inc.) for their outstanding collaborative work in developing a new catalyst for CO2-based polymers that sequester CO2.

Congratulations to the 2012 award winners!

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.