European Statistics Day!


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 18 October 2019
  • Copyright: Image copyright of the European Union

This Sunday, 20 October 2019, sees the fourth European Statistics Day! An initiative of the European Statistical Advisory Committee (ESAC) with the support of the members of the European Statistical System and the European System of Central Banks, European Statistics Day offers the opportunity to highlight the importance of statistics in society.

Since its launch in 2016, European Statistics Day has been marked with events all over Europe, and this year, with the theme Look at the Facts, is no exception.

thumbnail image: European Statistics Day!

As the 2019 Capital of Statistics, Paris will host a day of speeches and panel discussions at the ESSEC Business School on 22 October, with more events taking place throughout Europe

The Statistical Service of Cyprus (CYSTAT) will be celebrating with a public event on the Usefulness of Official Statistics in Cyrpus on 21 October at the premises of the Ministry of Finance, while the Ablanian Institute of Statistics (INSTAT), Statistics Estonia, and Statistics Poland will be opening their doors, allowing school pupils and other members of the public to learn about working in statistics. 

Ahead of the celebrations, read this article on the beauty of statistics by the Maltese National Statistics office. 

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.