Statistics in Medicine Author Wins ISPOR Award


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 16 April 2019
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of ClipArt

The International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research Award for Excellence in Methodology in Health Economics and Outcomes Research has recently announced its 2019 winner.

Professor James O'Malley is this year's recipient winning the award for his research article 'Modeling a bivariate residential‐workplace neighborhood effect when estimating the effect of proximity to fast‐food establishments on body mass index' featured in Statistics in Medicine (

thumbnail image: Statistics in Medicine Author Wins ISPOR Award

Professor O'Malley is Professor of Biomedical Data Science and the Dartmouth Institute whose research interests centre on the design and analysis of medical device clinical trials, causal inference and social network analysis. He has developed novel statistical methods, often involving novel use of Bayesian statistics, to solve important methodological and applied problems in health policy and health services research, including the evaluation of treatments and quality of care in multiple areas of medicine. He plans to continue working on methodological problems in causal inference (comparative effectiveness research), hierarchical-multivariate modelling, social network analysis, and Bayesian analysis with specific problems often at the intersection of two or more of these areas.

To read more about this award and its process, please visit ISPOR's website here.

To learn more about ISPOR as a whole, please visit their site here.

Congratulations to Professor O'Malley.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.