Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 07 February 2019
  • Copyright: imtmphoto/Shutterstock

For the full announcment follow this link.

The Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award recognizes and encourages the mentoring of junior staff in the statistical community in federal, state, or local government. It is awarded annually to a supervisor, technical director, team coordinator, or other statistical staff member who is nominated by a supervisor and co-workers for his or her efforts in supporting the work and developing the careers of junior staff.

thumbnail image: Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award

The award recipient will be selected for his or her efforts to support the work and develop the careers of junior staff. Preference will be given to individuals with a track record of mentoring government statisticians. Examples of typical mentoring activities include the following:

  • Advising junior staff to help them create career opportunities, networking skills, and contacts for growth and development
  • Counseling junior staff and providing resources to help develop their technical writing, analysis, presentation, and organizational skills and knowledge
  • Encouraging the growth and career development of junior staff through attendance and oral presentations at meetings with higher-level officials, staff of other agencies, professional associations, training courses, and conferences
  • Motivating junior staff and building self-confidence by providing feedback, being a listener when needed, and creating a caring and supportive environment
  • Serving as a role model for junior staff through professional expertise; information and insights; balancing collegiate and personal roles; and including everyone regardless of rank, race, ethnicity, or seniority
  • Nominations for the 2019 award will be accepted until March 22. The nomination form and guidelines are available from the Government Statistics Section and the Social Statistics Section websites.

The award committee will determine the award winner in April. The award will consist of a $1,000 honorarium, a citation, and a plaque, which will be presented at a ceremony arranged by the co-sponsors. Contact Kevin Cecco if your organization would like to co-sponsor the award.

The nomination package must be emailed to ASA Professional Development and Sections and Chapters Manager Rick Peterson or mailed to the Jeanne E. Griffith Mentoring Award Committee, c/o The American Statistical Association, 732 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-1943.

Questions about the award can be addressed to Peterson or (703) 684-1221 or the chair of the award committee, Bill Mockovak.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.