Call for Papers from Applied Stochastic Models in Business and Industry


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 06 November 2018

The journal Applied Stochastic Models in Business and Industry (ASMBI), the official journal of the International Society for Business and Industrial Statistics (ISBIS), is going to publish in 2019 a special issue, edited by Olivier Gaudoin and Bo Lindqvist, devoted to selected papers presented at MMR 2017 (Mathematical Methods in Reliability). During the conference, held in Grenoble (France), a Panel Session was organised on the theme "Is Reliability a New Science?" The panel discussion was spawned by the publication in 2017 of a book by Paolo Rocchi titled "Reliability is a New Science: Gnedenko was Right".

A paper has been prepared out of such panel: the contributors are Nozer Singpurwalla, Vitali Volovoi, Mark Brown, Erol A. Pekoz, Sheldon M. Ross and William Q. Meeker.

The paper can be downloaded at the ISBIS website,

Contributions to the discussion are now sought. Interested people can submit their contribution (max. 1500 words) through the ASMBI submission system at

thumbnail image: Call for Papers from Applied Stochastic Models in Business and Industry

The deadline for contributions is December 15th, 2018.

Contributions will be checked for appropriateness, following the usual selective ASMBI style. For more information on ASMBI, please look at

Contributors can find instructions on submissions on the ASMBI website.

For further information please contact either the Guest Editors, Olivier Gaudoin ( and Bo Lindqvist (, or the ASMBI Editor-in-Chief, Fabrizio Ruggeri (

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.