Call for applications for the 2019 ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 26 July 2018
  • Copyright: image appears courtesy of Getty Images

The ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards are an opportunity for young statisticians to present their papers at the biennial World Statistics Congresses (WSC). The awards are named after the famous Dutch econometrician and Nobel Prize winner, and are sponsored by the Dutch ‘Stichting Internationaal Statistisch Studiefonds’ (International Statistical Study Fund Foundation). 

thumbnail image: Call for applications for the 2019 ISI Jan Tinbergen Awards

The aim of the Foundation is to offer assistance to developing countries in the field of statistics. The award supports the Foundation’s aim by encouraging the development of young statisticians and by helping to build statistical capacity in developing countries.

For the first time the competition is open to all young statisticians born in 1987 or later, regardless of their nationality. From 2019 onwards, the focus of this competition will no longer be on the nationality of the applicants but the subject of the paper. Papers should now address statistical problems of real relevance in building statistical capacity in countries with limited statistical infrastructure.

The competition is split into two divisions. For each winning paper the Foundation awards a cash prize and assists the author’s participation in the next ISI World Statistics Congress where they will present their paper.

More information on each division and how to apply can be found on the ISI website

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.