Cochran-Hansen Prize open for submissions


  • Author: Statistics Views
  • Date: 17 July 2018
  • Copyright: image appears courtesy of Getty Images

The Cochran-Hansen Prize, established by the International Association of Survey Statisticians (IASS) in 1999, is now open to submissions. The prize is awarded every two years for the best paper on survey research methods. The last prize winner was Girish Chandra from India with his paper Ranked set sampling approach for estimating response of developmental programs with linear impacts under successive phases.

thumbnail image: Cochran-Hansen Prize open for submissions

Participation in the competition is open to young statisticians from developing and transition countries who were born in 1984 or later. A submitted paper must be an original work which is either unpublished or has been published after February 15th 2017. It must be accompanied by a cover letter, which includes the author’s year of birth, nationality and country of residence. The deadline for submission of papers for the 2019 prize is 15 February 2019 and the winner will be decided by members of the Cochran-Hansen Prize Committee appointed by the IASS.

The Cochran-Hansen Prize consists of books and journal subscriptions valuing €500. The prize winner will be invited to present his or her paper at the World Statistics Congress of the International Statistical Institute (ISI) in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, from 18th to 23rd August 2019; The prize will include the airfare and any living expenses for the days that they participate in the 2019 WSC meetings in Kuala Lumpur.

More information on how to submit your paper can be found on the IASS website.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.