Winners of 2017 Jan Tinbergen Awards announced


  • Author: Statistics Views (Source: ISI)
  • Date: 19 April 2017
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of

The International Statistical Institute (ISI) has announced the 2017 winners of the Jan Tinbergen Awards. These biennial awards, named after the famous Dutch econometrician, recognise best papers from young statisticians from developing
countries. Two awards were given for this year’s competition.

The first prize winner is Mr. Marcelo Bourguignon Pereira from Brazil for his paper 'Modelling time series of counts with deflation or inflation of zeros.'

The second prize winner is Mr. Christian Eduardo Galarza Morales from Brazil for his paper 'Robust logistic quantile regression models using skewed heavy-tailed distributions.'

thumbnail image: Winners of 2017 Jan Tinbergen Awards announced

The awards will be presented to the winners at the Awards Ceremony at the ISI World Statistics Congress in Marrakech, Morocco, in July 2017. The winners will receive a cash prize as well as funding to support their participation at the Congress, where they will present their papers.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.