Sir Tim Berners-Lee awarded ACM A.M. Turing Award


  • Author: Statistics Views (source: Open Data Institute)
  • Date: 11 April 2017
  • Copyright: Image appears courtesy of Getty Images

Sir Tim Berners-Lee, ODI Co-founder, and Professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and the University of Oxford, has been awarded the 2016 ACM A.M. Turing Award by The Association for Computing Machinery. 

thumbnail image: Sir Tim Berners-Lee awarded ACM A.M. Turing Award

Sir Tim was awarded the prize for inventing the World Wide Web, the first web browser, and the fundamental protocols and algorithms allowing the Web to develop and grow.

Upon receiving the award, Sir Tim Berners-Lee said:
‘I’m pleased and humbled to receive this award. The 28 years since the Web’s invention have brought a mix of delights, challenges and opportunities, and I remain committed to ensuring the web delivers benefits to everyone, everywhere.’

The A.M. Turing Award was named after Alan M Turing, the British mathematician who articulated the mathematical foundation and limits of computing, and who was a key contributor to the Allied cryptanalysis of the Enigma cipher during World War II.

Related Topics

Related Publications

Related Content

Site Footer


This website is provided by John Wiley & Sons Limited, The Atrium, Southern Gate, Chichester, West Sussex PO19 8SQ (Company No: 00641132, VAT No: 376766987)

Published features on are checked for statistical accuracy by a panel from the European Network for Business and Industrial Statistics (ENBIS)   to whom Wiley and express their gratitude. This panel are: Ron Kenett, David Steinberg, Shirley Coleman, Irena Ograjenšek, Fabrizio Ruggeri, Rainer Göb, Philippe Castagliola, Xavier Tort-Martorell, Bart De Ketelaere, Antonio Pievatolo, Martina Vandebroek, Lance Mitchell, Gilbert Saporta, Helmut Waldl and Stelios Psarakis.